The Best Fudgy Chocolate Cupackes

These chocolate cupcakes are a family favorite that I’ve been making for a couple years now. They are a rich, moist, fudgy, chocolate cupcake that is absolutely delicious! I remove some of the middle of the cake and add ganache. It just makes them even better! I first made them for my sister’s baby shower. While they weren’t the prettiest after I frosted them, they tasted amazing! I tried to put them together to look like a baby carriage. You could tell that’s what it was, it just wasn’t perfect. It was also the first time I had done anything like that.

img_0646

Since then I have attempted to form them in the shape of a wedding dress for my sister-in-law’s bridal shower and a baby onesie for another family baby shower that was the most epic fail. Despite how I thought they looked, everyone always told me how good it looked and that the cupcakes tasted amazing!

img_0694

This last time I made them, they were my best that I had ever made! I filled them with ganache, which I highly recommend! I also made a Swiss meringue buttercream. It is the BEST buttercream I have ever made!…so smooth and silky. The combination of cake, ganache, and buttercream is perfection. I’ve come a long way since I’ve started making them.

choccupcakes

Regardless of how a cupcake design turns out, people will still eat them and they will be the talk of the party!

Fudgy Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients:

½ cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 ½ cups AP flour

½ cup Hershey’s Cocoa Powder

1 tsp. baking soda

½ tsp. salt

1 cup buttermilk

½ cup boiling water

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line your cupcake pans with cupcake papers. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, add the AP flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix together and set aside.
  3. Measure and heat the water. Set aside.
  4. Using the paddle attachment on the mixer, add the softened butter and sugar. Cream them together.
  5. Add the egg and vanilla. Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl to make sure everything is incorporated.
  6. Add some of the dry ingredient mixture. Mix. Add some of the buttermilk and mix. Continue to alternate until all of the dry ingredients and buttermilk is used up. It should be pretty thick.
  7. Slowly stir in the boiling water. Stop when the water is mixed in.
  8. Fill the cupcake papers a little over half full to get about 20 cupcakes. These cupcakes do rise a lot. Fill them higher if a bigger cupcake is desired. This will result in a smaller yield.
  9. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  10. Frost with your favorite buttercream. I highly recommend a Swiss meringue buttercream. Check out my recipe.

3 thoughts on “The Best Fudgy Chocolate Cupackes

  1. I LOVE this blog! EVERYTHING not only looks amazing, but being first person you usually share it with, I can say without a doubt (or bias) that everything here is as fantastic as it looks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment